Proposed States and Union Territories of Indian Union

by Edson FrainlarSeptember 28, 2022 · 2 min read · Last Updated:

If the Indian Union is divided based on the socio-cultural reasons, then it would have got 47 states and 22 union territories. India is a sub-continent. It can be divided into eight zones - North, Central North, Central South, East, West, North East, North West and South.

Northern Zone

  1. States: Baltiyul, Dardistan, Dogradesh, Garhwal, Himachalesh, Kashmir, Kurmanchal, Ladakh, Pahadiyat
  2. Union Territories: Burushal, Lhoyul, Purig

North Western Zone 1. States: Brijbhumi, Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan

Central Northern Zone 1. States: Awadh, Haritanchal, Jejakabhukti, Kanyakubja, Rohilikhand 2. Union Territories: Indraprastha

Central Southern Zone 1. States: Avantijanapada, Chhattisgarh, Hadoti Gopassetra, Mahakoshal, Vindhyachal

Eastern Zone 1. States: Bangla, Bhojpur, Bihar, Dandakaranya, Jharkhand, Kolhan, Mithilanchal, Odisha

North Eastern Zone 1. States: Arunachal, Assam, Kangleipak, Mizoram, Nagalim (Nagaland), Sikkim, Tipra 2. Union Territories: A-Chik A-Song, Borailbhum, Chakmabhumi, Gorkha Pahad, Kirata, Kukiram, Mayodia, Meghalaya, Mikir Anglong, Monyul, Udayachal

Western Zone 1. States: Bhilistan, Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra 2. Union Territories: Dawan, Kachchh

Southern Zone 1. States: Andhrarashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana 2. Union Territories: Aluvakheda, Andaman, Lakshadweep, Nicobar, Puducherry

Edson Frainlar

Written by Edson Frainlar
Mission-driven Full stack Developer with a passion for thoughtful UI Design, DevOps, Colloboration and teaching. Curious to explore Quantum Information and Computing. Amateur blogger on Technology and Socio-cultural Regions of India.
Buy me a coffee ☕

Was this article helpful?

Your opinion matters

Please share your thought about this article

This page is open source. Noticed a typo? Or something unclear?
Improve this page on GitHub